Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and Aging

hnblz9hjyjyjj7vf7alz

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Is a Mix of Endearing and Infuriating.

via Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Is a Mix of Endearing and Infuriating.

 

I avoided the comments because I’m thin skinned. (Which I think that translates into: Here troll, troll, troll, oh dinner is served!)

 

The above is an article on io9.com, one of my favorite websites. I don’t care about spoilers, I read an article about the new Hercules movie that was full of spoilers without warning that basically they explained the entire movie in the blog post. Before reading my take on that article, you should read the article.

 

Okay. I watched TMNT as a kid, I was 5 in 1986 when the cartoon released. As I’ve said in another post I basically grew up with them. I was 9 in 1990 when the movie came out, I was 22 in 2003 for the next incarnation of cartoons. I’m now 33 and I’m pumped to see this movie, except for the fact I’ve gotten older and the turtles haven’t. They’ve always gone back to being 15 in every reincarnation. I really enjoyed the CG TMNT movie because the turtles didn’t seem 15 anymore. Donnie had a job in tech support, Mikey had a job dressing up as a giant turtle for birthday parties, Leo was playing Ghost of the Jungle, while Raph was being badass vigilante solo. We’re given the impression that at least a couple of years have passed.

 

So if in this new movie if the turtles seem older I’m okay with that. I am taking my daughter to see it, but it is me that wants to see this movie. I want to see Raphael again, and being an adult, well I’m all for the “adult humor.” Take the Nickelodeon TV CG TMNT, I totally love it, can’t get enough of it. I wanna send gift baskets to the writers, well anyway in the episode “Pizza Face,” Mikey sings ‘Kitty Kitty,” to the Ice Cream Kitty in the freezer. The song, “Kitty Kitty,” is by a group called the 69 Boyz. Yup, exactly. That made me grin from ear to ear. Or Mikey sings, “Go Ninja Go Ninja Go!” From the song “Ninja Rap,” by Vanilla Ice whenever he does something cool.

 

I’m pretty sure I’ve rambled here, what I think I’m trying to get at, is the new Ninja Turtle movie isn’t just for the next generation of kids, it is also for us old folk who watched the cartoons in 1986 and sat at the cafeteria table singing:

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

Heroes in a half shell

Turtle power!

 

I can’t wait to see it, and thank you Nickelodeon for making the CG TV show so spectacular.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

