Divergent Review

Number 1, I have not read the book so I don’t have that to compare to. Actually I might read the book simply because the movie kinda left me with that “Well what happens next?” feeling.

Number 2, sometimes you can get an idea how a movie is gonna be from the trailer. I totally had the plot all wrong on this movie. From the trailer I expected this movie to be: Girl gets labeled as Divergent, Girl joins or get rescued by other Divergents, secret training montage, Divergents overthrow the government. Boy was I wrong. This was an hour and a half of Girl surviving futuristic post apocalyptic bootcamp. I sat through this movie thinking, so when does she meet up with other Divergents? I also thought the factionless were also Divergents, but they kinda seemed like lobotomized psych ward patients.

Number 3, the plot I had envisioned from the trailer would’ve been better than what the movie gave me.

Number 4, I absolutely saw no old people or young children in Dauntless except the one leader dude who was obviously middle aged. So where did the “Dauntless Born” come from? You might have to give me the “Where do Dauntless babies come from?” explanation. I hope that in reading the book this is fleshed out.

Number 5, they never give a clear reason why the wall was built. To keep King Kong out? Godzilla? Kaiju? All you get is, “They built it for a reason.”

I didn’t like the movie, and if they make a Divergent 2, I don’t think I’ll watch it. I dig post apocalyptic movies, creature features, sci-fi and horror. This just seemed like a retelling of G.I. Jane.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

1 thought on “Divergent Review”

So what did you think?

