Writing a Novel… The Hard Way

0703_writing_cogI just want to point out the booze in that photo. I’m a writer, I drink, I often write best when I’m drunk. I’m often my most emotional and vulnerable when I’m drunk. I’m currently participating in NaNoWriMo 2014 and I’ve participated every year since 2011. I’d never heard of it until 2010 when my internet friend, Serena, was posting on Facebook about word counts. I’d been trying to write a novel since 2000. I actually wrote one, it is complete rubbish, but I keep it around to remind myself how far I’d come. The novel I wrote for 2011 NaNoWriMo is the one I published.

Okay, novel writing. I start with characters, usually inspired by other characters. Take Domic for instance. Many know Domic.

Screenshot (13)For those that don’t. 🙂 Domic is obviously based off Thorin Oakenshield, but instead of a Dwarf he’s a barbarian. I always begin with characters. My characters for my currently NaNoWriMo novel are based off my co-workers, straight down to the names and descriptions, but unfortunately not their personalities, I need them to fit the roles I’ve given them (and in one case, the role that was requested). I wanted to publish this novel, but I doubt that will be happening. I honestly do better with short stories rather than full blown novels. This novel is also based upon a dream I had, yes, I dream about my co-workers and Funnel Cake, don’t judge.

Most start with a plot or a setting, then add characters I can’t do that. I begin with characters and usually I’m already emotionally attached to them. Such as Domic, because I’m emotionally enthralled to Thorin Oakenshield (I won’t even begin to go on about how I’m gonna have to take a box of tissues to see the Hobbit 3.)

I make up the plot as I go along. Right now, I’m writing about sky pirates and I know where they’re gonna go, but I gotta add filler to make this 50,000 words. So I gotta come up with crap for them to do. Being an RPer, I usually throw an obstacle at them and then let the characters determine how they handle it. Perhaps that is why I write novels weird.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

3 thoughts on “Writing a Novel… The Hard Way”

So what did you think?

