Linear Writing

endless_road-wallpaper

I had a conversation with my brother today and apparently I’ve been writing all wrong all along. I finally appreciate some feedback. See I’ve never any formal training in writing (I guess it is obvious), basically I just had ideas and wrote them down, then I began to start with creating characters and putting them in a setting and throwing situations at them. Then I began to try to write novels, everyone encouraged me to write a novel, and I’ve even published one. However after this conversation with my brother I mentioned I write linear. I start with the beginning and just keep working to the end. I was giving him the cliff notes version and he kept saying, “That makes no sense. Did you explain how that works?”

I said, “No, its science fiction, you don’t have to explain it. I was just adding filler to get enough words.” When I told him I write linear, he asked me why. I responded, “Doesn’t everyone?”

“No, you write in story arcs and then piece them together,” he explained. Wait? What? I assume I write linear because of role playing, I’ve never tried to just write certain scenes out then arrange them later. I think this idea might actually work for me because I’ve always said I do better writing short stories.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

