Review: Adrift

Adrift
Adrift by K.R. Griffiths
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Not the worst book I’ve ever read, but I didn’t like it either. First of all when I bought it, I wasn’t expecting a vampire novel, I was hoping for something more ‘Mary Celeste’ or even ‘Deep Rising.’ This was like a limp version of the ‘Poseidon’ meets ‘The Strain.’ Normally I enjoy a good vampire novel that isn’t all mushy, and romantic. This was not a good vampire novel. Its main problems were the plot is really thin, and the main character is hard to determine until the end of the novel. It also has a huge convenience, to carry the story along. It seemed like this was the first third of a novel, or even a prologue to the creation of a vampire hunter. This felt more like backstory than anything else.
The good parts are the book is an easy read, it isn’t long, very detailed, almost too detailed with different characters coming to the same conclusions only paragraphs apart. Also, I did enjoy his concept of vampires and their relationship with the humans.

View all my reviews

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

