Don’t Starve Together Dedicated Server Woes

header

I love the game Don’t Starve Together. Actually I started playing Don’t Starve, then I saw Harshly Critical (a YouTuber) playing DST with his friends and I adore how everyone picks on MrKravin (another YouTuber). It was a survival video game I could play with my daughter. I played on the desktop and she used my old laptop. The problem got to be that we couldn’t seem to play together. I couldn’t get the LAN game to work, even by connecting our computers with an ethernet cord (I’m not really computer savvy here.) She just lagged out too much. So I started blaming Charter or my computer not being able to support the DST server. So I went looking to rent a dedicated server so my daughter and I can play DST.

I googled ‘DST dedicated server hosting’ the first hit I got was http://gamehosting.co/

The “customer reviews” were all about how easy and simple it was to set up the server. So I went with it. I followed all the guides as best I could. I didn’t understand a lot of it, so much coding, a lot of copy and pasting. I couldn’t even get the server to show up in the server list on the game. So I contacted tech support, apologized for being a dolt and said I needed help. I informed them their guides were out of date (it showed what I need to put into boxes that I didn’t have). They directed me to a dedicated server guide on the DST wiki!!! That guide was to set up a dedicated server through Steam, not how to set one up with game hosting. After about 3 or 4 days of not being able to get it to work and getting a headache I finally contacted them and asked for my account to be canceled (cause I couldn’t find where to cancel my account on their website) and I told them how bad their customer service was and how complicated their setup was. They just sent me an e-mail saying my account was canceled. That was probably on April 10 or 12th.

I got an e-mail from Paypal letting me know that Game Hosting took another $12 out of my account to pay for services I do not have! I need an angry emoji here. So I contacted Game Hosting again, demanded my $12 back and then contacted Paypal saying Game Hosting took $12 they shouldn’t have. I checked with Game Hosting, I do not have an account that I can log into. So I’m waiting to hear back.

I did get a dedicated server for a month for DST until I started playing Fallout 4. I used http://citadelservers.com/ And talk about a complete turn around. Once again I couldn’t get the server to work. I contacted customer support and they replied, “Oh you needed to do this and this, but don’t worry, we took care of it for you.” Also their layout was much more simple and their guides spot on and detailed with images. Also they were $2 cheaper than Game Hosting. I enjoyed using them and I will use them again once I get Fallout 4 out of my system.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

