My Experience with Racism

I normally don’t touch the sensitive or controversial subjects but what happened at work yesterday has totally got my panties in a bunch.

I was called a racist.

When I confronted the girl who called me a racist she said it was a joke and I took it the wrong way. I informed her it wasn’t right to joke about racism.

I work in fast food. I was working fries yesterday and the problem with working fries is the battle between drive-thru and inside orders. I do the orders in order. So the first order on my screen is a drive-thru order that I’m waiting on fries to finish cooking to finish up. The girl comes over and asks where are her fries. (She is assembling inside orders.) I said, “Drive thru is first.” I suppose I should’ve said, “Drive thru’s order is before yours.”
She looks at me and says, “That’s racist.” I was totally stunned. I didn’t even know what to say or do.
“Why would you say that?” I asked her.
“You think dive-thru is better than me.”
“What?” I’m just flubber-knucked. I then point to my order screen, “This is drive-thru, this is you.”
“Oh.” She says.
“I can’t believe you would say that about me. I’m offended.” I state and she walks away. Now I didn’t ask her to apologize, or even tell management. It is my right to be offended. Like Steve Hughes says, “What happens when you get offended? Well, you get offended.” So I cried a little, abandoned my station to tell my husband. Got yelled at my management for abandoning my station. I didn’t care at that point. Really didn’t want to finish my shift.
That was when the girl kept trying to tell me it was a joke, and I told her that she did not need to talk to me unless it was related to the station I was working at. I don’t tolerate being around people who insult me.

So a few things about why I’m upset over this. I was raised racist. I was raised that anyone non-white/non-Christian/non-heterosexual were inferior to whites. My family’s racism was more towards African-Americans and after 9/11, towards Muslims. My family are strong believers that the South will rise again, and are Confederate flag waving rednecks. My brother at one time wanted to be in the KKK. It wasn’t until I got older and married and had children that I didn’t want them raised like this. So I never pointed out race to my kids. I remember my son trying to tell a story about his friend at school. My aunt asked him what was the friend’s name. It was something unusual and my aunt asked if the friend was black. My son didn’t understand the question. My daughter was best friends with the Muslim girl down the street and even wanted a hijab like her friend.

I do not believe that one race is better than another, I do not believe that one religion or sexual orientation is better than another. I believe in equality.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

