ENFP

So I took a personality test, I’ve taken several. I know I’m an extrovert, but I was more curious to what kind of extrovert I am. I am an ENFP, which apparently only makes up 7% of the population.

What is an ENFP? Well that means Extroversion: I enjoy meeting and talking to new people. Intuition: I enjoy possibility, theories and big ideas. Feeling: I make value-centered, people oriented decisions. Perceiving: I am spontaneous and keep my options open.

Here is a more indepth guide:

I totally accept that I am an ENFP. 16 Personalities – ENFP After reading this guide it was so much like me that I found it creepy. It also says so many great things about ENFP’s that it actually saddened me because this personality has a drawback. I often find myself outcasted, misunderstood and undesired. Most of this is from workplaces or coworkers. I’m referred to as annoying, and when I addressed this problem with management I was asked if I was being overly-friendly. What world do we live in where kindness in unwanted?

So this thing went down at work that made my last two days of work miserable, I contacted management, had a meeting and basically what I got from it was: Keep my niceness to myself.

People can change, but we’re talking about my core personality, what makes me, me.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

9 thoughts on “ENFP”

  1. Hey! fellow ENFP here, nice to meet you. Sorry about your work troubles, it’s ridiculous that friendliness is something looked down on in that workplace. Don’t stop being friendly. The world needs more nice people.

    Something I run into sometimes are times where I want to be friendly and nice, but I have absolutely no idea what to say and come off as reserved. The sort of thing where if someone starts talking to me, I’d truly love to talk with them, I just need them to begin the conversation. I think part of this is because I’ve had a lot of times where the things I was interested in talking about were not things they were really interested in talking about, and so the conversation never really starts. So, I figure that if the other person gives me a topic, that is obviously something they’re interested in and that is therefore a “safe” or “available” topic for conversation.

    If you read this comment, I’m just wondering… What things in the ENFP profile do you agree with and see in your own life, and what things do you maybe disagree with at least somewhat? It’s cool to actually meet someone else with this personality type… Well, sort of. As much as meeting online counts for meeting someone, lol.

    EDG, from songoftheheartblog

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read the profile at 16personalities.com and it is pages long. So much so about how as a subordinate I’m adaptable and loyal and a good listener. I’m also highly emotional, easily stressed, and extremely independent (I very much go through life refusing to ask for help.)
      However I disagree more with ENFP’s being popular (I never was, not in school or work) and I figured because I was nice and not shy I’d be liked. Also I disagree with good communication skills. Yes I can walk up to someone I don’t know, say hi without fear, but often I don’t know how to keep a conversation going. Unless I’m talking to a dog person, dog people like to talk about their dogs.
      As much as a people person as an ENFP is, I am totally clueless about others. I can never tell if they like me, or care about me or if they consider me a friend. I’ve a coworker who is a severe introvert at work to the point that when extroverts try to talk to him he flat out tells them he’s not at work to be friends. I can tell chatter bothers him (he works a singular job that doens’t often bring him into contact with the other workers unless his expertise is needed) I walk into his department and tell him things trying to make him laugh. I walked up to him one day and said, “Will you miss me when I’m gone or will your say good riddance?” He replied, “I’ll miss you, you’ll be one less person around that actually works.” I took that as a Hell of a compliment. Though he smiles at my stories and I can make him laugh, I think he likes me, but I still have my doubts.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. …Wow, so much of what you just described about yourself is me too. Idk about the highly emotional part, unless you mean being prone to mood swings, but easily stressed, extremely independent, having trouble keeping a conversation going (without help or prompting anyway, unless it’s with specific people that I’m completely comfortable around and therefore feel like I can say pretty much whatever I want). I’ve never really cared for dogs… Though they’ve begun to grow on me the last couple years, but I get knowing how to talk to some people and not knowing how to talk to others.
        And not being able to tell if someone likes me? Ugh… ALL THE TIME… Sometimes even with my own family members…

        Do you have multiple hobbies? That’s one of the first things that really hit me when I was reading the personality profile, lol.

        My dad is an introvert. In fact, it’s kinda funny, because he happens to be an ISTJ– the exact opposite of my personality type as far as the letter go. The thing about my dad is, when he’s in public (even among friends) he might talk to one or two people, but he mostly just hangs out in the background at parties and groups and stuff. He barely even talks to family at these things, except for short random bursts of something, for example, the game that’s going on in the corner reminds him of this random thing that happened to him as a kid, or the music that’s playing originally came out in such and such a year by such and such an artist. He might talk to a couple people, either because they are talking about something interesting or because he’s being polite, but for the most part he just hangs out. However… if you get him alone, or at least at home among people he’s completely comfortable with? Especially on hikes? Hahahahaha… he becomes friendly, personable, funny, etc. I have a friend who came over a couple months ago, who had previously only ever seen my dad in public settings, and had felt intimidated by him and felt like he was unapproachable. Then she came over and saw the side of him that comes out at home, and she was pleasantly surprised.

        Aaanyway, when you say you think he “likes” you, do you mean in general, as a friend, or otherwise? Do you know what kind of introvert he is? ‘Cause my dad is more of an intellectual introvert– I think basically his thing is he doesn’t like to engage in conversation if it isn’t worth his time. If a subject is something dumb to be talking about, like pink unicorns and candy cloud kinds of subjects, then it’s not worth his time. But if it’s something interesting, like some fact you heard about the type of plant that’s growing in his garden or something actually interesting that happened to you that day (now, this is my dad, so A. I know him better than other people, and B. He’s probably more friendly with me than with other people and more open to what types of things I can talk about. However, the “is this conversation worth having” thing still applies, even though I’m his daughter.)

        Anyway, sorry, idk if the guy you’re talking about is the same way or not since he’s, y’know, a completely different person… Anyway, I hope this wasn’t too long or boring or something… have a great day!

        EDG

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Your dad actually sounds pretty cool. It is said that introversion and extroversion are actually on a spectrum, and that is entirely true. My core personality is an extrovert through and through, but there are times I just don’t want to leave the house, and there are times I don’t want to deal with people, usually it is people I know and dislike. That was another thing about ENFP, I read an article about personality types as enemies and it said that ENFP is never really an enemy that we go out of our way to try to mend bridges and make up soured relationships. On extreme measures, ENFP will try to turn others against the person they don’t like. I have a tendency to try to remove the person from my life by not talking to them or interacting with them.
        As for my coworker, I hope he just likes me as a person, we need not be friends, but being appreciated at work will improve my day immensely and I often tell him how much his help in my work is appreciated. I have no idea what exact type he is. Some people won’t take the quiz, but usually you can spot an introvert/extrovert by watching body language when they interact with others.
        It isn’t important for me to be liked at work, I have coworkers who don’t like me and I’m okay with them, it is being misled to that I don’t like. If you don’t like me, don’t pretend that you do and then talk about how annoying I am behind my back sort of thing. This has actually happened in my current workplace. I was being called ‘Judy’ behind my back and one day a girl accidently addressed me as Judy and since I wear a name tag I was confused and she confessed that was what everyone called me. I asked why and was told that it is what you call an annoying nice person who gets on your nerves.

        Like

      3. 😦 I’m sorry. I don’t like that kind of thing either. I just graduated so I haven’t ever had a job, but I can relate a bit. I had a friend in 5th through 8th grade who mentioned in about 7th grade that she and a friend of hers used to make fun of me behind my back in 4th grade because I had just come from a different school and they had a very specific dress code, and I was so used to dressing for that dress code that I just wore that kind of clothes normally. She and the friend made light of it that they’d done this, so I decided to pretend I was cool with it, but inside that honestly did not feel good… (this friend randomly decided to stop being my friend after 8th grade– which honestly became a really big issue with me for at least two or three years afterwards, because I really depended on that friendship emotionally, but I’m good now and I have other friends. Honestly though, I get why she ended the friendship– we argued a lot and honestly I think it was a friendship version of the whole “not willing to give up the relationship even if it’s not a good relationship because ENFP depends on it too much” or something like that.)

        Yeah, I never really had very many enemies until this one girl came to my school. And even then I wouldn’t call us enemies per say, we just didn’t get along very well. Pretty much every time she talked to me, I felt like she was trying to boss me, put me down, or shut me up, and that really rankled with my personality. We got along better in later years– last year, my senior year, I’d say we actually got to a point where we can be friends if we spend more time together– but in 10th grade I started to feel so isolated from the rest of the class and school that I decided to just leave entirely and try online school. It didn’t help that half the kids in my class were dyslexic and I felt like I was dragging my way through my schoolbooks because they were having trouble reading. (absolutely nothing against dyslexic people, I know several talented people in my area who are dyslexic; it’s very prevalent in my area because I live in a logging community and way back when logging jobs tended to attract dyslexic people because they didn’t have to read too much for the job. However, if a dyslexic person is not given the proper training that their brains need in order to learn to read, or if they only do a little bit, then you end up with a lot of really slow readers in the class.) I wanted the chance to see if I could actually learn by myself, and I wanted to get out of what felt like a “nobody here likes me” environment. However, online school… Well, take the ENFP personality profile’s tendency to get bored easily, especially if doing the same thing day after day after day? UUUUUGHHH. I did not do well, lol. Oh, the things I actually got done I got good grades in, but I had trouble with bringing myself to do what was basically a “set of mundane chores” to my personality. Suffice it to say, I went back to school for my senior year.
        Yeah, my dad is awesome. I brag about him a lot to people… and my siblings, lol.

        I have read the ENFP is sort of an “introverted extrovert” type, where we truly do need social interaction and people, but at the same time, we also need time alone to process the information we received while we were interacting. However, I don’t think it’s the same way as an introvert needs alone time, since I honestly feel more energetic when I’m around people and less energetic when I’m not– and yet, I do need alone time, because that’s when I can think better about stuff.
        Another thing I’ve read about ENFP is that we tend to be willing to talk about stuff, but have trouble actually opening up about our own deep feelings. I’ve found this to often be true– something I’ve noticed in my life is that depending on the thing, I will usually mention a little bit of how I feel about a situation in order to try to get people to notice that there is something I feel about that issue, but it’s up to them to figure it out. There are only a couple people I actually open up to about things, and that’s usually only after I’ve already had it on my mind for weeks, months, or even sometimes years. And even then I won’t necessarily tell everything… which then leads to me feeling like people know lots and lots of superficial stuff about me without knowing the real me.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You certainly have had a lot to say. 🙂 You are a dream to talk to, thank you. My family were poor and did not pay rent well, back in the 80s and 90s, no one did background checks or credit checks when you rented an apartment, as long as you have first and last months’ rent, they rented to you. We tended to move about every 6 months, because it takes 3 months of non-payment of rent to get eviction proceedings started and another 3 months to actually evict someone. I often believe that this is the reason I’m an extrovert, I was basically forced to be one, I was ALWAYS the new kid at school, so I was forced to try to make new friends nearly every school year. I supposed extroversion is great, but because of the moving around (especially before computers and cell phones) I don’t actually have real friends. I have 1 girl I can attempt to do things with, but she’s agoraphobic (I think that is the one, where she’s afraid to leave her house) so going out and about with her is a big not happening. Most of the people I consider my friends are people I’ve met online through the years, and thanks to Facebook keep in touch with, even though I’ve never met them in person. The woman I consider my best girl friend lives in Florida and I’ve never met. We chat a lot, but never met. My best friend is my husband, I tell him everything.
        So having said all that, do you think you are naturally an extrovert or became one out of necessity?

        Like

      5. Oh, I can say I am DEFINITELY one naturally. I had a lot of friends when I was little mainly because either our parents all did the same things and were really good friends, or our siblings were friends so we made friends too. If I were naturally an introvert, I would have probably tried to spend more time in my room by myself when ppl came over rather than actively hanging out with all the “big people” when they came over (I’m the youngest of five kids, and the second youngest is 7 years older than me, so most of the people who came over to spend time with them were a loooot older than me).

        Also, I look at how I acted when people came over or when we went somewhere and how my dad acted when people came over or we went somewhere, and there is a marked difference. Dad always found a way to leave early, go outside on the back porch if he was going to chat with someone, that kind of thing. I never really saw him doing that much unless he was helping. He’s great with kids though… I’ve seen him with my nieces and nephews, or in sunday school classes, and he’s a lot of fun to watch around kids. Anyway, then there’s me– I wanted to stay later so I could play with my friends, I was sad when people left because then I only had my family to talk to, etc… Yeah, I’m definitely a natural extrovert.

        If anything I’d say that my introverted side has been the part of me that happened out of necessity. When we moved when I was nine, I suddenly didn’t know anybody, and by that point all the second youngest of us was 16 and an upperclassman in high school, the three oldest of them were adults, two of them were married, and one of them had a kid and was living in California. So basically, I literally moved from an environment where I knew a lot of people, friends came over all the time, and we went places often, into a new environment where I knew pretty much no one, everyone else we knew lived a minimum of forty minutes away but typically more like 60-75 minutes away. Instead of living in a “typical residential area of a city” type of place, we lived more on the outside of a town on a piece of land with 5 acres. We haven’t really made a habit of become bff’s with our neighbors, although we have met some of them and become good acquaintances with one or two. I was suddenly going to a new school– after having tried homeschooling for one year just for fun– and like I said, I was the new kid. However, I wasn’t really used to having to make friends on my own, and I tend to like to make sure that someone wants to be friends with me before I attempt to officially befriend them, and while I talked with a few of the kids, I didn’t really get any cues from any of them that said, “I want to be your friend! Come hang out with me!” Except for this one girl who was very kind to me and would play with me at recess. But she left the school after that year, so… yeah. The year after that, I became friends with the girl I mentioned in the last comment and stuff. But anyway, the point is, suddenly I didn’t have all that social interaction anymore even with my siblings, and so I got quieter and not quite as extremely extroverted– though I am still definitely an extrovert.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Oh yeah, when I was a kid I was always in the room where the adults were chatting and talking, I found their stories more interesting than whatever Disney movie they put on for the kids to watch.
        I think both of my parents were extroverts or borderline at most. My mother always had to be the center of attention, and my dad was never one to avoid other people though he didn’t need to be the life of the party.
        Today I let myself go introvert when a coworker told me she couldn’t stand people who are always happy. I honestly couldn’t talk to her anymore, because -I’m- always happy, well mostly. I’m an extrovert with depression (I am diagnosed and on anti-depressants), so when I’m around people I’m laughing and joking and smiling, and then I cry myself to sleep at night. What I mean is she had no idea how much of an -impact- that one statement had on me. I had to work closely with her for two hours, and almost didn’t say more than a few words to her.

        Like

      7. 😦 People just don’t pay attention to how much their words mean sometimes. There’s things people have said that really encouraged me, and they probably have no idea, and then there’s things people have said that really upset me, and they have no idea either. I did a speech for speech class/speech meet about words once, and how much they can impact people.
        And yeah, sometimes there will be people who say something that hurts or at the very least makes you flinch and internally draw away from them, and you just have to either close your mouth or yell at them, and with me, I don’t like yelling at people, so I typically just close my mouth when that happens…
        My mom was extroverted when she was younger, but because of how extremely introverted Dad is, she has become more introverted than she used to be. I don’t think she was ever a super extrovert though, so that might have contributed.
        I love disney movies, so I probably would have just stayed to watch it, but without a movie being in, I typically would probably do the same thing.
        I find it kind of funny. I was randomly looking up various meyer-briggs stuff, and I discovered that apparently my sister’s personality type is one of the most compatible with ENFP. I thought that was cool.

        Liked by 1 person

So what did you think?

