I Got a New Job

Today was my second day at my new job and already I’m second guessing choosing to have accepted this position and having put in my two weeks at my old job. I even contemplating actually blogging about it. I was reading the handbook today and it said three things that stuck out at me.
  1. You shouldn’t talk about your wage. Handbook says it makes other associates uncomfortable. (Adam Ruins Everything says that it is illegal.) No it pisses them off when they realize they’re underpaid. With my new job I’m going from $7.75 an hour to $8.50 an hour.
  2. Handbook says that it is not a contract even though they had me initial a lot of it.
  3. I’m not allowed to talk outside of the company what goes on in the company. (This one worries me a bit. See I’ve been griping about my former job, which I never named, and never named my management and co workers.
Let me first admit to being sleep deprived, I worked at my former job till 11 PM, then had to be up at 5:30 AM to go to work at my new job. If I hadn’t called in tonight then I be getting off at 1 AM and have to be up at 5:30 AM.
So I get 3 days of training at my new job and then “turned loose” is the best term. Now there are perks to my new job, better pay, better hours, benefits, holiday pay, sick days and vacation days, and self management. The first day I worked I commented on how the person who trained me would get $100 if I worked 90 days without a write up. The girl tells me that so many people don’t stay, that in 3 years she’s only gotten the $100 twice. She says some stay for their training and quit, some after their first day. This should’ve been warning bells.
Today was my 2nd day and I already can’t stand the assistant manager. The first thing she says to me is, “I can’t stand people who are always happy.”
I replied, “Then you and I aren’t going to get along.” I think I feel sorry for her, because she isn’t happy.
Also, they are really strict about weird things, such as my undershirt can’t be longer than my work shirt.  I cannot greet a customer, “Hey, how’s it going?” I have to say, “Hello, how are you?” I must also thank every customer. They’re also anal about the way I count down a drawer and how to file paperwork.
I spent nearly two hours standing behind another cashier, watching her serve customer. This cashier was also the assistant manager, and after I found out I can’t talk to her. She cares not for my anecdotes or useless trivia. So I shut up. This was the last hour I worked. I was bored out of my skull just standing there. So the store manager puts me on a register finally, and she makes the comment that I just ‘tanked’ about an hour ago. That is because I was bored and I don’t like the girl was “shadowing.”

I just need to make it through training and then I should be happy. Once I’m done with training I shouldn’t come into contact that much with the assistant manager. One of the shifts I’ll be by myself for a good chunk of it and that makes me happy.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

2 thoughts on “I Got a New Job”

So what did you think?

