I QUIT!

Yes, that is actually me, Ransacked Turnip.

So I only worked for the c-store for 3 days. I was already second guessing my decision to leave the fast food restaurant for the c-store on Day 2.  After Day 3 I was googling if it was okay to quit a new job and if so, what was the best way to do it. Before we get into that, let’s look at what happened in those 3 days that made me decide to quit.

Day 1 – Actually wasn’t that bad. I watched videos, read part of a manual that was an inch thick, took out trash, scrubbed the toilets and stocked cups and lids, and learned some of the more intricate rules, such as the cell phone policy is so strict that you aren’t even allowed to charge your phone much less be on it at work. I was actually kinda okay with this, I was pretty sure I could sneak phone usage in the bathroom. (It was how I did it at KFC). They impressed me about how great their smoke break system was. You worked 3 hours, took a break, worked 2 more, took a break, worked 2 more, took a break. Sadly that only happened on the first day. The next two days I got a 5-7 minute break between 9-9:30 and that was it. (I worked 6:30-2 during my training.) However on Day 1, the girl training me said to me, “We can’t really keep people. Sometimes they quit on their first day or right after training.”
“Oh really? Why do you think is that?” I asked her. I was immediately thinking of what kind of people they hired since they told me a girl stole $80 from the purse of another girl on her first day.
“They probably think this is an easy job.”
“It is an easy job, I’ve done c-store before. Stocking the cooler is the hardest part.” Well I quit after my training. 

Day 2 – I worked some register, read more manual, followed my “trainer” around while she showed me everything in the store. Checked in a delivery, stocked the cooler, scrubbed toilets again, took out trash again, got a crash course in learning how to do money orders, prepaid cell phone cards, running checks, and then spent my last 3 hours of the day watching the assitant manager work the register. I was bored out of my skull and I couldn’t talk to her because one of the first things she says to me is, “I can’t stand people who are happy all the time.”
“Then we aren’t going to get along,” I reply, and immediately withdrew. Okay, so I’ve been working my fast food job the same time as training. The c-store manager asked me what time do I work my fast food job, and I said 5 PM – 2 AM. My training shifts were 6:30 AM – 2 PM as I mentioned before. So I was getting like 4 hours of sleep between jobs at night and another hour and a half in the afternoon. I was dog tired and on my 2nd day I had trouble staying awake while driving home. So while I was bored and I was tired. I felt I could’ve learned and done more than just standing there for three hours!!! Also learned that my undershirt can not be longer than my work shirt, and that I can’t say, “Hey how’s it going?” or “Take care.” I must say, “Hello, how are you?” and “Thank you.” This kinda gyrated on me a little. Seemed stupidly strict. I also counted down a drawer for the first time in almost 7 seven years. and yeah I was exhausted and sleep affects your mental capacity, and the assistant manager was trying to teach me the paperwork at the end of the shift, which seemed stupid, I had to write down how many coupons I got, how many lotto tickets I paid out, but I also had to save the lotto tickets and coupons (if I save them, why do I need to record them?) and how much I was over/short (once again, I had to save the paper that told me, so why write it down?). She had no patience for me, when I was keying numbers into the calculator or trying to register what she was saying to me. When I tried to count down the drawer I wrote down the denominations of the change and was going to add them up at the end, I was told to keep a running tally in my head.  I couldn’t even process what the girl was saying much less remember numbers. The Assistant Manager is very negative and said all men suck (which they don’t, my husband is great) and she commented about how tan she was and I said I don’t do outdoors and she jumps down my throat and says that if your water line breaks in your yard you get outdoors and dig it up and fix it. (I was completely withdrawn to just agreeing with whatever she said.) I wanted to say that actually you call the water company, and if the leak is outside the house, they repair it, but I didn’t. When I got home and talked to my husband I literally said I couldn’t stand the assistant manager.

Day 3 – First of all, my period started. So I’m all wonky hormones, and once again I’m tired and I had food poisoning. I woke up feeling like shit. I was vomiting and had diarrhea, extremely bloated, I had pooed 3 times in 30 minutes. I honestly considered calling into my shift, but I decided that I would go into work anyway, maybe get to go home early or get some leniency. The entire way to work I was worried I might have to pull over and throw up. I thought going to work sick meant I was showing dedication but apparently not…
So I casually mention to my co-worker/trainer that I was sick with food poisoning, that I was throwing up and had diarrhea. I told her I had considered calling into work today, but went ahead and decided to come into work. I nibbled crackers and drank really watered down gatorade trying to calm my stomach. Every time I bent over I got light headed. I decided to go ahead and tough out the day. So as I’m doing trash, the general manager marches across the parking lot to the pumps where I am and says to me that she heard from the other girl that I was sick and had considered calling into work, and how I hadn’t told her I was sick. I told her I had planned to just tough out the day. She tells me that this isn’t fast food, if we’re sick, we still have to come into work. That if we’re too sick to work, then we need to go to the doctor. I told her I didn’t call in, I didn’t ask to go home early, and I was on time today. (In the course of the lecture about attendance I told the manager this three times!) She told me she had only missed 3 days in her so many years, and left early once (she left early that day btw). She said she didn’t spend all this time and money to hire someone who is sick all the time. She then mimicked holding her stomach and mocked saying that her stomach hurt. She said she’s hired teenagers before (I am not a teen) that use that excuse just to go home early. She then told me that another girl has IBS and she works through it. (I almost took off my shirt and handed it to her and quit right there. I mean seriously I hadn’t done anything wrong yet and I was getting treated like this was a repeat occurrence!) She said she scheduled me 3 days next week and that if I was going to call in sick on any of them I needed to let her know now so she could give those shifts to someone else. Those three shifts? One 8 hour shift and two 5 hour shifts. She had scheduled me only 18 hours. I was pulling 40+ at my fast food job. I did the math, even with the $0.75 pay increase, I was still gonna be pulling down half of what I was making.
I finished my shift, went home, took a nap, then went to my fast food job, where I had put in my 2 weeks (17th was to be my last day) and I sidled up next to my favorite manager and said, “I hate my new job.”

So I talked to my coworkers at the fast food job about can I ask not to quit that job, and if I can quit the new c-store job. I found two websites that gave advice on how to quit a new job, or even if you should.
How to Quit Your New Job
How Do I Quit A Job I Just Started?
I decided that if my fast food job wasn’t going to keep me, I was going to stick with the c-store until I could find another job. So I went to the management of my fast food job and told them that my new c-store job was horrible and I wanted to quit and would like to know if I would undo my 2 week notice and stay. They seemed oddly happy and gave my my notice back. I said that I still had open availability and could work anything. The assistant manager said she was already plugging me into shifts while I was talking.  (Later I learned that after telling my favorite manager that I hated my new job, the upper management were telling him they weren’t sure how to cover my shifts and he said you might wanna talk to Turnip.)

So I spent the rest of the evening wondering if I should no-call/no-show it, or go up there in person and drop off my shirt and name tag and say I quit. If management was there should I tell them why I’m quitting? I asked the assistant manager at the fast food joint what should I do and she says, “Are you going to use them as a reference?”
“No,” I reply, “I’m never gonna mention I even worked for them.”
“Then I’d be like ‘Bye Felicia!'”
Actually I took the higher road. I drove in before my shift started, the assistant manager was there, I asked to speak to her privately, gave her my shirt and name tag and gave her feedback on why I was quitting. Normally Negative Nancy was polite, formal, almost professional when I quit which made me feel they knew it was coming.

And then a blurb about shenanigans at the fast food job. So I pissed a girl off at work last night, I apologized to her, and she wouldn’t accept it. Then I pissed her off again and she couldn’t work the rest of the night with me, and I didn’t care. I’m there to work, serve the guests in a courteous and timely manner, not to make friends or have fun. The girl I pissed off is a mouthy, belligerent, short fused degenerate. She fits in well actually with the rest of the crew who act entitled, sadly which is almost all the female crew. I don’t feel or act entitled. I do what I’m asked, work where they put me, work my station to the best of my ability, and am always a nice person.
I pissed off the girl because she kept forgetting to press a button that allowed me to pay the orders in drive thru, and said jokingly because of it we couldn’t be friends, and she stormed off, told a manager, I apologized, she took two more orders, a guest came to the speaker with multiple orders and the girl said, not to the guest, that, “Oh hell no! I ain’t taking no multiple orders!”
The guest said, “Hello?” So I took the orders and she stormed out of the drive thru again. I didn’t apologize, I hadn’t done anything wrong. She was being the awful employee, and she switched positions with another girl.

I mentioned once about all the hours I get at my fast food job to one of the managers and he said, “That means they like you.” Apparently if they don’t like you, they’ll schedule you 10 hours trying to force you to quit.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

