No Man’s Sky Lost Its Shiny?

The last two days I’ve finally gotten time to play No Man’s Sky. A game that I loved and adored when it first came out and like Fallout 4 and XCOM 2 I spent my time away from the game, thinking about what I’d do in the game next. Since I discovered you can sprint even if for a limited time, it actually made the game better for me for a short while. In my last No Man’s Sky post that was the main complaint I had about the game.

Still, even with sprinting, it takes too long to travel anywhere. Also I need and easy way to be able to go back to places I’ve already discovered on planet. Take this example: I found a trading post on a planet I was mining neutrals on to sell. I’d fly out, mine Gold or Emeril or Aluminum, fly back and sell on the trading post, without having to leave the planet to go to the Space Station. However because places you previously discovered disappear from your HUD as soon as you discover them, when I flew out too far I got lost and couldn’t find the trading post again.

Because No Man’s Sky is played in real time, the easiest way I can think of is to implement an auto-pilot feature that allows the ship to travel (fastest route possible) back to a place you’ve already discovered. I just mean on planet. So I go out and mine ores, set the ship to autopilot back to the trading post, and I get up and get a drink and make a sandwich while the ship is flying.

Now here is the other weird thing about what No Man’s Sky does to me. After playing a couple hours I get overwhelmed by the urge to read or write science fiction. For NaNoWriMo I’m already going to write No Man’s Sky fan fiction (the way I write it will start as fan fiction and morph into something else.)

I’m doggedly staying with the game, but the worlds are starting to get boring and repetitive. I have yet to find all the species on one planet. I spent 2 days looking on a water world. I think my goal is to just discover star systems, planets, and move on towards the center. I’m curious as to what happens when you reach the center.

Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

