FREE DRAGONSCALE CROCHET BEANIE PATTERN

I started with this pattern: Crocodile Stitch Adult Hat It was confusing. I thought they were gonna do photo steps all the way, but nope, they stopped the photos when I needed them the most such as in how to decrease the beanie. So then I tried to go ahead and wing it, my beanie wound up too small. I discovered I had decreased too much, too quickly. Then I went ahead and tried to figure out their patten and when I decreased the way they did, my hat was not as symmetrical as my winged version. So I decided to redo the hat, using my ideas, and just add more rows of scales before decreasing.

Here is my pattern:
We’ll be using chain, slip stitch, double crochet, front post double crochet. You’ll also need a yarn needle to bring the ending hole closed once the crocheting is done. Pick your yarn, and then whatever needle is suggested. I used I Love This Yarn: Pastels and an H hook.
The rows will be discussed in prep and scales.
Chain 72 (a scale is 4 stitches, so if you need to make the hat bigger or smaller add or remove in multiples of 4). Slip stitch to make a ring. Now their pattern has you go around once with a hdc, or you can just jump in and set up your prep row. When you’re ready to start your prep row, you chain (ch) 3, then double crochet (dc) in the same hole as the ch 3. Ch 1 (you’ll always ch 1 after every dc), skip 1 stitch (st) and dc, ch 1, dc, ch 1, dc in same hole as the previous dc (st should look like a V).

You’re going to continue this until you reach your ch 3. The V st will be your scale, and the single dc is your anchor post so your scales lay flat. Your last st should be a post before your sl st to the top of the chain 3. Ch 1.

 Now we’re done with the prep row, time to start the scales.

 You’re going to front post double crochet 5 times around the ch 3 post. When you’re done with the 5 dc you should be at the bottom of the post.

Now we’re going to do 5 dc up the dc we did after we chained 3. Then you’re going to slip stitch (sl st) around the anchor post.

Congrats, you’ve got one scale made. Now to do this until you’ve anchored to the last post and should be back at the beginning of your scales. Once you anchor your last scale, ch 3, dc in the same st, ch 1, we’re gonna do another prep row just like the last one, instead of using stitches, we’re gonna use the scales to help up prep. Each scale should be between two scales of the previous row and each post in the center of a scale. So once you’ve done the ch 3, dc, ch 1, your next dc will be in the center of the scale below it. Chain 1, then dc in space between the scales, ch 1, dc in same space, ch 1.

Then put on your scales.

Put on as many rows of scales as you want depending on how slouchy you want your beanie. The first time I did this, I only put on 3 rows before decreasing and my beanie looked like this:

It looked lovely, but it didn’t fit on my head right, and I couldn’t pull it down to cover my ears, and reminded me too much of the top of an acorn. The blue beanie at the top of this post is my 3rd beanie I’ve made, and I put on 6 rows of scales before decreasing. With the beanie I photoed for this post I also put on 6 rows, but 5 would’ve been fine too:
So up to you how many rows of scales before you start decreasing, cause when we start you’ll be ready to close the end hole after 4 rows.

The decrease! So you’ve got your 5 or 6 rows of scales, this prep row will be a little different, we’re gonna skip some scales. So you’re going to ch 3, dc in same st, ch 1, dc in the center of the scale below, ch 1, dc in the space between the scales, ch 1, dc in the same space, ch 1, (like normal, but once you’ve prepped 4 scales, count the scales below, so you should have a V that needs an anchor post, instead of putting the anchor in the center of the next scale, you’re going to skip that scale and anchor in the next scale in line.) So every 4 scales we’re gonna skip one when building the prep row. Don’t skip the last scale before you join the prep row.
(Now I feel hypocritical, I complained about how the other pattern didn’t have decrease photos, and I noticed that when I posted my photo, I’d made a mistake in it. It shows the skipped scale, but the skip is wrong, it should be a V, then skip a scale so the post goes in the center of the next scale.)
This photo is incorrect.
Not sure if you can see this. By my index finger is the scale, see how it anchors to the center of the next scale? I took this photo after finishing the hat.
Next prep row, we’re gonna do the same as we did before, but now you’re gonna set up for 3 scales, and then skip a scale. Add scales as normal.
Next prep is 2 scales, skip a scale. Add scales as normal.
Next prep is you’re gonna skip every other scale. Should be just 4 scales.
This photo might help show the scale skips.See, post, V, skipped scale, post.
When you tie off your project leave a long tail. You’re gonna thread this tail through a yarn needle and sew the small hole closed.

Stitch around the edge, and then you’ll pull it closed.
Turn the hat inside out and tie off the yarn.
Enjoy your beanie!
Author: Ransacked Turnip

I'm a dreamer, a coffee drinker, and a lover of animals.

So what did you think?

